8 Signs Your Friendship Might Be Done-zo

Published April 30, 2014 by nomdeplume21

Thought Catalog

No one wants a friendship to end, but, as cliche as it sounds, sometimes it really is for the best. Ending things is the worst, and a lot of times, we don’t want to admit to ourselves that a relationship has run its course. Let me make it easier for you.

First, listen to this song, and let the all the feels wash over you:

Now you’re ready. Read through these red flags, and see if it might be time for you to say goodbye.

1. No one’s asking questions

Your friends should be interested in your life, your thoughts, and your opinions. I recently caught up with a friend I hadn’t seen in months, and she spent the entire lunch talking about herself. I was interested in what was going on with her, but not one question about me or my life came up, and it was more than…

View original post 940 more words

Thirteen Reasons Why: Jay Asher

Published November 10, 2013 by nomdeplume21

Summary:

Clay Jensen doesn’t want anthing to do with the tapes Hannah Baker made. Hannah is dead. Her secrets should be buried with her. Then, Hannah’s voice tells Clay that his name is on her tapes – and that he is, in some way, responsible for her death. All through the night, Clay keeps listening. He follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his small town …………and what he discovers changes his life forever.

Cassette 1: Side A

Hannah Baker has sent out a set of tapes to 13 people to explain the 13 reasons why she killed herself. Clay Jensen is the next person to get the tapes. The first person on the tapes is Justin Foley. She explains that he was her first kiss her freshman year, but he went and said that they did more than just kiss. They had kissed at the local park called Eisenhower Park. Clay walks over to his friend Tony’s house. When he gets there Tony and his dad are working on his mustang. Tony’s dad has clay sit in the driver’s side and start the car, while he is in there he steals Tony’s cassette player. They finish with the car and Clay leaves with the cassette player.

Cassette 1: Side B

Clay starts the cassette and Hannah starts talking about Alex Standall. Alex voted Hannah as “Best Butt in the Freshman Class.” She saw a list called “FRESHMAN CLASS- WHO’S HOT/WHO’S NOT,” on a student’s desk. Jessica Davis was very mad because Hannah was on the “WHO’S HOT” side and she was on the “WHO’S NOT” side. Clay had reached the first red star, Hannah’s house. He had been there before after a party. Everyone knew Alex’s list was a joke but it lead to Hannah getting her butt grabbed at a local store, Blue Spot Liquor. Clay walks to Blue Spot Liquor and walks in and asks if Wally still worked there, the guy behind the counter said he worked day shift. Clay paid for his candy bar and soda and walked out the door. Tape 1: Side B ends and Clay pops open the walkman and changes the tapes.

Cassette 2: Side A

Hannah starts off by saying that she wasn’t completely alone the beginning of her freshman year. Alex Standall and Jessica Davis were also new students. Although they never became close friends, they did rely on each other the first few weeks of school. The guidance counselor told Hannah and Jessica that she thought they would make really good friends. They both knew that they didn’t have anything in common and would never become friends. But Jessica and Hannah did end up hanging out after the meeting. Their conversation took them to a place called Monet’s Garden Café and Coffeehouse and they both ordered a hot chocolate. Clay took a city bus to Monet’s. It didn’t cost anything to ride the bus at night so he gets on and goes right to a seat. While Hannah and Jessica are at Monet’s they notice a guy, Alex Standall, checking them out. Jessica walks up to Alex and asked him which one of them he was checking out, he blushed and just said that he overheard them saying they were new and that he was new too. One day Jessica told Hannah that they needed to talk so they met at Monet’s and Jessica showed her the “WHO’S HOT/WHO’S NOT” list. Jessica said that Alex picked Hannah over her. Hannah told Jessica she knew all about her and Alex’s relationship and it made her jealous. Jessica rose up out of her sear and swung at Hannah and scratched her face.

“It may seem that every time someone offers you a hand up, they just let go and you slip further down.”

Cassette 2: Side B

Clay wants to order a hot chocolate in honor of Hannah but instead he orders a coffee. The girl behind the counter asks what he’s listening to, he tells her just some cassette tapes. She tells him they went to school together 2 years ago and they took wood shop together. She told him that she thought he was the nicest guy in school, everyone did. They say their goodbyes and Clay finds a table to sit at. The next person on the tapes is Tyler Down. He was a “peeping Tom.” He would take pictures of Hannah while she was in her room changing clothes or doing other stuff. While she’s recording this tape she sits outside Tyler’s window. She tells how she and a girl that sits in from of her in a class decided to try and catch Tyler. So they study then went upstairs and Hannah started to give her a massage. Then they made a plan to catch him, she counted to 3 and jerked the blinds up and he went of running. Clay finds a picture of Hannah and some other girl in a book at the coffee shop.

“This was my chance, at this theater, to reach Hannah. It was my chance and I let it slip away.”

Cassette 3: Side A

Courtney Crimsen is the next person on the tapes. She is the one that helped Hannah catch Tyler. Hannah explains that Courtney is one of those girls who puts on a show and tries to be all sweet and friendly. Clay leaves Monet’s and goes to Tyler’s house, the next red star on the map. One day Courtney walks up to Hannah and asked her if she wanted to go to a party and Hannah asked why she wanted to go, Jessica tells her so they can hangout. Hannah agrees to go so Jessica writes down her address and the time. Later that night she picks up Courtney and they head to the party. When they get to the party they go their separate ways. A guy named Marcus sees Clay at Tyler’s house and tells him that he threw a rock at his window and that he should too, but he says no. a guy walks up to Hannah and says that Courtney sent him over there, but she really didn’t. She finds Tyler and walks up to Courtney and asked her to take a picture but she doesn’t want to. Then she does and it’s the picture Clay found at Monet’s.

Cassette 3: Side B

Hannah explains that every year the cheerleaders do a thing called “Oh My Valentines” on Valentine’s Day to raise money for cheer camp. Hannah did fill out a survey and when she turned it in she was having second thoughts about it. She went to the office to pick up her list and while she was standing there she got a call, it was Marcus Cooley. She had made his list and he wanted to take her on a date. So she said she’d meet him at a place called Rosie’s. She waited and waited but as she was getting ready to leave he showed up. They went to a table and sat down, he put his hand on her knee but she didn’t like it. She told him to stop but he didn’t so she hit him in his side by throwing him into the floor. Clay gets on the bus to go to Rosie’s but first goes to the local movie theater, Crestmont. He and Hannah used to work together there before but they never talked. He finally goes to Rosie’s and his mom comes to bring him the other tapes.

Want more? Read “Thirteen Reasons Why”online: http://www.onread.com/fbreader/191453/

Insights:

     I love this book! It really caught my attention and made me attached to the story and characters in the book more specifically Clay Jensen, the one listening to the audiotapes. It is like we were the same, we want to know why Hannah Baker killed herself and why he’s one of the reason. I love how artistic the author in writing this book. The used of audiotapes, the two simultaneous narratives… It was just amazing!

      This book made me realize many things which you can read in the section “Lessons”. But, I’m also sad how Clay feelings left unproclaimed or unspoken. Somewhat, it’s just too sad how their love story ends (well, for me. It’s somehow a love story of them).  

“I’m listening to someone give up. Someone I knew. Someone I liked. I’m listening. But still, I’m too late.”

Quotations/Lines:

  • I want to push Stop on the Walkman and rewind their whole conversation. To rewind into the past and warn them. Or prevent them from meeting. But I can’t. You can’t rewrite the past. ~Clay
  • I could have helped you. But when I tried. you pushed me away. ~Clay
  • When someone says your name like that, when they won’t even look you in the eyes, there is nothing more you can do or say. Their mind is made up. ~Hannah
  • It’s hard to be disappointed when what you expected turns out to be true. ~Hannah
  • The wonderful thing about a yearbook photo is that everyone shares the moment with you forever. ~Ms. Benson
  • Everything affects everything. ~Hannah
  • No one knows for certain how much impact they have on the lives of other people. Oftentimes, we have no clue. Yet we push it just the same. ~Hannah

Lessons:

  • Be sensitive to the feelings of other people.
  • Learn how to speak up. Learn how to express yourself.
  • Sometimes, you need to accept that some things don’t have a good ending but, hey! Don’t give up.
  • Jokes have limits.
  • Life is like a domino so, think before you act and be responsible for that actions.

Thirteen Reasons Why, with and without jacket

REFERENCES:

http://www.embowman.com/2011/why-you-should-read-every-hardcover-with-the-book-jacket-off/

https://sites.google.com/site/13reasonswhymickie/home/chapter-summaries

© All rights reserved

November 10, 2013

AmaterasuMhe

The Best of Me: Nicholas Sparks

Published November 9, 2013 by nomdeplume21

“Everyone wanted to believe that endless love was possible. She’d believed in it once, too, back when she was eighteen.”

thebestofme

Summary:

 In the spring of 1984, high school students Amanda Collier and Dawson Cole fell deeply, irrevocably in love. Though they were from opposite sides of the tracks, their love for one another seemed to defy the realities of life in the small town of Oriental, North Carolina. But as the summer of their senior year came to a close, unforeseen events would tear the young couple apart, setting them on radically divergent paths.

           Now, twenty-five years later, Amanda and Dawson are summoned back to Oriental for the funeral of Tuck Hostetler, the mentor who once gave shelter to their high school romance. Neither has lived the life they imagined . . . and neither can forget the passionate first love that forever changed their lives. As Amanda and Dawson carry out the instructions Tuck left behind for them, they realize that everything they thought they knew—about Tuck, about themselves, and about the dreams they held dear—was not as it seemed. Forced to confront painful memories, the two former lovers will discover undeniable truths about the choices they have made. And in the course of a single, searing weekend, they will ask of the living, and the dead: Can love truly rewrite the past?

Some of the Quotations/Lines:

“People in pain don’t always see things as clearly as they should.” -Tuck

“Because I’m a curious person, I’ve always been curious about everything” -Dawson

“This is our place, a tiny corner of the world where love can make anything possible.”-Tuck

“To get close to someone means allowing that person to learn about your past.” -Dawson

“Everyone has things their past they wish they could change.”- Amanda

With Amanda, it was easy for him to be himself; with Amanda, he was content for the first in his life. Even now, that final year together was sometimes all he could think about.

Lessons:

  • First love and true love is the best.
  • Death will never be a reason to separate you from the one you love.
  • You’ll do everything to the one you love.
  • A mistake or accident will never be solved by another mistake.
  • We should face every changes in a brave way, we should learn that vices like alcohol and smoking will never help to solve a problem instead, it will only add as another problem.
  • Learn with your mistakes.

Fav. Character: Dawson Cole & Tuck

I love Dawson because even though many years had past, he still thinks about Amanda and still love her. You can see how he truly love Amanda until the end. He is a good man who face all the troubles and struggles in life even though he is from a criminal family. Also, even though he got prison because of an accident, he still care for the family of the lost until the time he got out albeit he did it by becoming an anonymous person. He saves and helps people.

         I like Tuck because even though he didn’t say anything to Amanda and Dawson, he arranged everything before his death. He also helped them to meet for the second time. He let these two know what they really feel with each other. You can also see how he truly loves his wife.

He forced himself to turn away and walk toward the garage because he knew that if he glanced at her so much he’d change his mind, and he couldn’t do that to her. He wouldn’t do that to her. He knew that Amanda would always be the very best part of him, the self he would always long to know.  

 

Insights:

       Well, this book is good. I can rate it as 3 out of 5 stars. In this book, you’ll know the true meaning of love and how each character choose their path. Sacrificing. Longing. Missing.  You’ll feel many emotions that will make you attach to the book. I really love how Nicholas Sparks wrote his novels especially this one although, it kind of sad in the ending. But, still I recommend this book for you to read.🙂

© All rights reserved

November 9, 2013

AmaterasuMhe

Ito Na Siguro Pinakamahabang Title Ng Isang Libro Na Ginawa Sa Pilipinas At Nagmula sa Facebook Page Ni AkOpoSIJAYSON Na Walang Maisip Na Pamagat: Jayson

Published March 30, 2013 by nomdeplume21

Siguro ito ang librong maihahalintulad sa mga ginawa ni Bob Ong, nakakatuwa ngunit makikita mo ang katotohanan sa likod ng bawat linyang iyong mababasa. Puno ng kalokohan ngunit kung iisipin at papansinin may kabuluhan.

Sa librong ito mababasa mo ang iba’t-ibang pangyayari o ginagawa nating mga Pilipino, kwentong bahay, kwentong kalye, kwentong estudyante, at kung ano-ano pa. Isang librong puno ng kakatawanan na kapupulutan ng aral.

Masasabi kong natutuwa ako sa aking kaibigan at kapatid na maituturing para ibahagi sa akin ang librong tulad nito.

© All rights reserved

March 30, 2013

AmaterasuMhe

A Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: David Gregory

Published March 26, 2013 by nomdeplume21

Image

This book can really inspire and enlighten people about God. It can answer your questions. I really admire the author of this book for making this. It helps you to know and be more closer to God. This book is not just a book but something deeper than anyone can imagine.

Some of the lines that struck me the most:

“You don’t want what you’re ultimately trusting to be wrong”. – Jesus

“No one is good enough to make it to heaven. No one can ever be good enough, no matter how hard they try.” -Jesus

“Humanity’s separation from God is much more profound than people realize.” – Jesus

“People were meant to have God’s very life in them.” – Jesus

“Sometimes….it takes deep hurts for people to feel their need for God.” – Jesus

and many more…. Read it guys, it’s worth reading…

© All rights reserved

March 26, 2013

AmaterasuMhe

Opinyon lang. (An opinion)

Published November 14, 2012 by nomdeplume21

Sinusulat ko ito para ibigay ang aking opinyon sa nangyari o video na nangyari sa LRT Station o mas kilala sa Amalayer:

Para sa akin bilang psychology student, di tayo dapat manghusga sa isang tao. Bakit? Kasi hindi naman natin alam kung ano ba talaga iyong totoong nangyari kaya hindi natin alam kung bakit ganoon nalang ang naging reaksyon ni ate. Tsaka hindi rin naman natin alam kung ano ba talaga iyong ugali niya, may iba kasi na dahil sa may pinagdaraanan siyang problema kaya sa ibang tao niya nabubunton iyong galit niya. Kumbaga, kung may isang tao man na mag-trigger nun, doon niya nabubunton ang lahat.

Pangalawa, naniniwala ako na laging may tama at mali sa punto ng bawat taong nag-aaway. Maaaring may nagawa nga si Ate Guard na hindi naman na-videohan. Maaaring may nagawa iyong guard na ikinagalit ni Ate. At mapapansin din natin na may mali si Ate dahil di naman mainam na sigawan mong iyong guard.
Bilang estudyante, naniniwala rin ako na kung may pinag-aralan ka o sabihin na nating bilang tao dapat marunong din tayong kontrolin ang ating mga sarili. I mean, may tamang proseso naman para sa ating mga reklamo o problema though minsan na nababalewala lang iyong mga iyon pero di ba bilang edukado/edukada alam dapat nating i-lugar ang ating mga sarili. Maaari naman yatang maayos iyon sa isang mahinahon na pag-uusap.

Pangatlo, naniniwala rin ako na tayong mga tao ay dapat matuto rin sa prinsipyong pag-unawa sa kapwa at pagpapakumbaba. Sabi nga nila. “Hindi maitatama ang mali ng isa pang mali.” Anong point ko rito? Simple lang naman, alam mo ng mali siya mas mainam ng patawarin mo nalang siya at sabihin sa kanya iyong mga bagay na nagawa niyang mali at dapat hindi na niya maulit lalo na sa iba pang tao. We should learn to understand each other at dapat di tayo mabilis na nadadala ng emosyon.

Wala akong kinakampihan sa nangyari, ang sa akin lang mali ang husgahan agad ang isang bagay na nakikita mo ng hindi mo man lang alam ang buong pangyayari.🙂

© All rights reserved

November 14, 2012

AmaterasuMhe

Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks

Published October 28, 2012 by nomdeplume21

SAFE HAVEN

by: Nicholas Sparks

Summary:

            When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, a quiet small town where you can relax perfectly during weekends, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. At first, she was shy but despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family and she began to trust them.

But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her . . . a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo’s empathic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards . . . and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven.

She told Jo and Alex about her past, about how she had been hurt by her husband and how many times she tried to escape but ended returning to where they live. Because of the times that she tried to leave him, he didn’t allow him to go out and talk to neighbors, to go shopping and salon alone and most of all she’s not allowed to have money, call someone, or even have a friend until she had a chance to escape and ended up here at Southport. She had a tough time escaping and she told Alex that her true name was Erin; she told him that she’d change her name and her hair color so that her husband, Kevin, who was a detective wouldn’t find her.

But as she drew closer to Alex and his children, she was scared what will happen in the future. Until Kevin found her because of Karen Feldman, the daughter of their neighbor Feldman’s which is very close to Erin; he had a feeling that Erin stole the identity of Feldman’s younger daughter named Katie and escape. He traced where she was and saw her and Alex getting along together and swore to himself that he would kill them all. He’ll kill Erin (Katie) even though he loved her so much. He search for her everywhere and felt sorry for what he’d done to her but convince himself that it was also the fault of his wife. At the end, Kevin died and Jo was revealed to be a died person, the wife of Alex, after Katie knew that she was happy to encountered her. Alex gave Katie a letter which was made by his late wife and it says in the letter that Jo entrusted his husband and children to Katie and wished them a happy and wonderful life.

Characters:

  • Katie Feldman (Erin) – the main character of the story. Her real name was Erin and she was the wife of Kevin. She’s beautiful, kind, and has a good heart but was so scared of the past that haunts her, the named Katie was from Feldman’s  family daughter whose died a long time ago
  • Kevin Tierney – Katie’s husband who constantly hits her. He used to say words of God, a good detective, and a drunker.
  • Alex Wheatley – owner of the old-fashioned country store, has two children and husband of Carly and soon get attached to Katie. A retired CID (Criminal Investigation Division) detective or military.
  • Carly Jo – Alex’s died wife; good, beautiful, lovable, and kind mother and wife. Died because of brain tumor
  • Josh Wheatley – Alex and Carly’s son who loves fishing
  • Kristen Wheatley – Alex and Carly’s daughter who loves doll and really like Katie
  • Jo – Katie’s neighbor and friend in Southport but actually the ghost of Carly, a good adviser
  • Ivan Smith – owner of the restaurant called Ivan’s where Katie works
  • Melody- co-worker of Katie at Ivan’s, a waitress and who likes to gossip
  • Ricky- a chef at Ivan’s, co-worker of Katie who has interest in her
  • Big Dave – a chef also at Ivan’s and a co-worker of Katie whose fond of making nicknames
  • Joyce – an old woman who help Alex manage the store and takes care of his children when his gone
  • Roger – a man who works at the grill in Alex’s store
  • Coeffey – a cop who works with Kevin
  • Ramirez – a cop who also works with Kevin and always talks to Coeffey
  • Bill – Kevin’s boss who admire Kevin’s skills
  • Terry Canton- Kevin’s old partner that had a heart attack and decided to retired
  • Todd – Kevin’s new partner
  • Amber – a girl that Kevin met at a bar
  • Larry Feldman – old man and a neighbor of Erin (Katie) and Kevin, husband of Gladys, and someone who Erin (Katie) became friend with
  • Gladys Feldman – old woman, wife of Larry that died because of a disease
  • Katie Feldman – daughter of Gladys and Larry who died a long time ago and resemble Erin so much not just physically but emotionally
  • Karen Feldman – daughter also of Gladys and Larry who once talk to Kevin asking where Erin is and the one who told him about her sister Katie that gave Kevin an instinct or a clue of Erin’s whereabout
  • Rachel – Katie’s (Erin) hair stylist

 Setting:

The setting of the story is in Southport, North Carolina. It is a small quiet town where people can relax and have fun especially during weekends. It made the story more exciting because it is where Katie (Erin) went to start over.

New words learned:

  • anomaly /əˈnɒməli/ (uhnomuh-lee)

–       a deviation from the common rule, type, arrangement, or form

–       odd, peculiar, abnormal, strange, inconsistency

  • austere /ɔˈstɪər/ (aw-steer)

–       severe or strict in discipline

–       serious, grave, uncompromising, forbidding

  • fathom /ˈfæðəm/ (fathuhm)

–       to penetrate to the truth, understand, comprehend

–       a unit of length equal to six feet

–       to determine the depth

  • scrutiny /ˈskrutni/ (skroot-n-ee)

–       a close, careful examination, investigation

–       surveillance

  • resilient /rɪˈzɪlyənt, -ˈzɪliənt/ (ri-zil-yuhnt, –zil-ee-uhnt)

–       springing back, rebounding

–       the ability to recover readily

–       capable of returning to an original shape or position

Main Idea:

The main idea of the book is that love is an inevitable feeling, sometimes it can hurt us but at the same time it give us happiness. It is a feeling where we can feel safe. A feeling that sometimes can make us crazy and do things that we think impossible for us to do. Love heals our heart and helps us to cope up and face a new beginning. It also give us strength that can help us in our lives. It is an important element in a family for them to have a understanding and good relationship with each of the family. It is also an element that helps us trust other people.

 Lessons I’ve learned:

  • We should have courage to face our problems
  • No one can live alone, we all need someone we can rely on
  • It takes time to know and trust someone
  • Not all marriage leads to a happy ending
  • Love is a magical gift from God that no one can explain
  • Love is the center of family

Quotations/Fav. Lines

  • “Love doesn’t mean anything if you’re not willing to make a commitment, and you have to think not only about what you want, but about what he wants. Not just now, but in the future.”
  • “I’ve come to believe that in everyone’s life, there’s one undeniable moment of change, a set of circumstances that suddenly alters everything.”
  • “That’s what courage is. If she weren’t scared, she wouldn’t need courage in the first place.” -Jo”
  • “Maybe I don’t want to be defined by what I do. Maybe I’d like to be defined by what I am.”
  • “I’m not sure anyone’s life turns out exactly the way they imagine. All we can do is to try to make the best of it. Even when it seems impossible.”
  • “Love can sometimes achieve the impossible”

Best scene:

For me, the best scene is when all the problems were solved and when Katie arrived at her house and start finding Jo but she didn’t found any trace of her or any trace that she had a neighbor. And when she finished reading Carly’s letter for her and found out that she’s also the Jo that became her neighbor. 

I love that scene because you can see how Carly love Alex that she even guide him to find someone she can trust to love him and their kids with all of her heart. She even became a friend to Katie. She did that even she’s already gone in this world.

I also like the climax of the story where Kevin found her and when Kevin sets fire to Alex’s house. You can really feel the intense, suspense, and action.

Best character: 

For me, its Carly Jo, wife of Alex because like I had said you can see how Carly love Alex that she even guide him to find someone she can trust to love him and their kids with all of her heart. She even became a friend to Katie. She did that even she’s already gone in this world.

Insights:

Actually, this is the first book I have read that was written by Nicholas Sparks. We had our LRR for English and we need to read a novel that can be found in out library. I was finding the book I’d love to read “A Matter of Choice” but I didn’t found it. Instead, I saw this book and I remember my friend in high school telling me to one of the books written by Nicholas Sparks entitled ” The Best of Me”, that’s why I thought maybe this book will be a great one. I’m not mistaken, I read and read and read until I finished it. This was a wonderful novel. I hope you can also read it.

So, yeah almost everything here is my answer to my LRR.

If I could continue the story, would I change something?

If I were given a chance to continue the story, I would end it with a wedding scene because I want to show the readers a clear ending wherein, Alex and Katie (Erin) will be united us one and they will live happily.

Want to know more? 

Actually, next year 2013, the film of this book will come out.

Details

Country:

USA

Language:

English

Release Date:

8 February 2013 (USA)

Read more here: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1702439/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Safe_Haven_(film)

References:

http://www.bookbrowse.com/bb_briefs/detail/index.cfm/ezine_preview_number/5436/safe-haven

http://www.goodreads.com/work/quotes/10829530-safe-haven

© All rights reserved

October 28, 2012

AmaterasuMhe